IPAD and VW show plenty of data left, but won't connect because I need to purchase more data!
bikemusic

In the last month or so (July 2015), whenever trying to connect my IPAD to the internet using my verizon wireless "cellular data" plan, I've received a message that I'm out of data and need to purchase more.  When I go online (via another device) or call VW mobile broadband support, I'm told I have plenty of data.  So, the ACTUAL data status of my account is not be recognized by my IPAD when trying to connect via cellular data.

Yes, I've powered the device off and on several times.

Yes, I've turned the WiFi service off.

No, the device is not in airplane mode.

No, I'm not a novice user.  Quite the opposite.

No, I'm not going to power my IPAD down every day.  That hasn't been necessary for YEARS and I'm not going to start now.

No, I'm not going to turn my WiFi off every time I want to use my Cellular Data.  That hasn't been necessary for YEARS and I'm not going to start now.  NOTE:  Some apps actually need WiFi and Bluetooth to remain on.

I've made FOUR (4) calls to VW customer service (Mobile Broadband support), two of which I made after PURCHASING more time, which as it turned out was not necessary.  In both cases, that purchase was credited, but the problem was only resolved short term.

There is a SYSTEMIC issue here somewhere and I would appreciate someone at a senior or supervisory tech support level taking a look at this issue and figuring out what is going on. 

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: IPAD and VW show plenty of data left, but won't connect because I need to purchase more data!
vzw_customer_support
Customer Service Rep

We want to make sure that you have access to your services. Is this for a prepaid account? We want to make sure that we get to the bottom of this for you.
BobbyN_VZW
Follow us on Twitter @VZWSupport