Thank you SuzyQ. That is correct information!
In addition, you also have the option to lock the messages into your phone; therefore, even if you delete all the rest of your messages, the locked ones will remain in the phone.
I hope this information is helpful.
Follow us on Twitter www.twitter.com/vzwsupport