Ripping DVD's to iPhone 4.......
tmenold

I am fairly new to ripping DVD's and was suggested to use Handbrake software.  I figured out Handbrake currently is not compatible with iPhone 4 (looks like some mods need to be done to some folder files to do this).  I recently tried Daniusoft and it's one you have to pay for, but I tried the free trial and it has a stupid watermark on the whole video.  Also the converted file was 1.7Gb.  To me that seems huge for a converted file for my iPhone.  I am hoping to find free software and know that I might forfeit qualty for this.  Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.  Thanks!

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: Ripping DVD's to iPhone 4.......
kaebfly
Champion - Level 3

tmenold wrote:

I am fairly new to ripping DVD's and was suggested to use Handbrake software.  I figured out Handbrake currently is not compatible with iPhone 4 (looks like some mods need to be done to some folder files to do this).  I recently tried Daniusoft and it's one you have to pay for, but I tried the free trial and it has a stupid watermark on the whole video.  Also the converted file was 1.7Gb.  To me that seems huge for a converted file for my iPhone.  I am hoping to find free software and know that I might forfeit qualty for this.  Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.  Thanks!

Can't really help you with software but I will say that the file size for the movie doesn't sound huge. I just checked the sizes of the digital download movies I have that were "free" with the purchase of Blu-Ray/DVD combo packs and they are in that range. One specific movie (Sherlock Holmes) is 1.79 GB and 128 mins long.

0 Likes
miketech_79
Enthusiast - Level 3

If you can rip the video off some how (DVD Shrink, etc) then you can use Media Coder to encode as some iPhone supported format. I have encoded as H.264. From the web: