Re: Windows Phone 8.1 & Cyan Firmware - When?
SeraphX2
Enthusiast - Level 3

VZW created the My Verizon Mobile app.

VZW created the VZ Navigator app.

VZW created the Backup Assistant app.

VZW changes the startup screen logo that they want you to see.

0 Likes
Not applicable

SeraphX2 wrote:

So?

0 Likes
SeraphX2
Enthusiast - Level 3

I bought WP phone on my own because I live in a Microsoft world; I was not baited by a sales person. I am a Microsoft-based developer and I do all of my development in Microsoft products at work and use all MS products at home which is why I want the phone.

The WP phone gets downplayed by store clerks.  So it doesn't matter how much advertisement you do, when you walk into a store, ask about the WP phone and a sales person says the phone is junk, the average consumer is going to listen to them and buy the Android or iPhone they subsequently try to pawn off on them.

0 Likes
SeraphX2
Enthusiast - Level 3

So, Tidbits is saying that VZW has nothing to do with firmware or apps that VZW backs.  VZW makes all of the addons they want you to have, not MS.

op2388
Enthusiast - Level 3

The fact that it is stated in an agreement does not make it right, it just makes it legal. If your company is having a representative say something just to get people on the hook which in turn leads to unhappy customers, I do not see how that is good business practice nor how it will ultimately make a company grow. If it wasn't for Verizon's network, I'm sure that there would be a mass exodus not just for WP but for many other platforms.

You talk a lot about common sense. Common sense dictates that it makes no sense to involve yourself in something which does not apply nor affect you (e.g. Windows Phone). So why are you here again?

Not applicable

SeraphX2 wrote:

Once they deem it their responsibility to approve the firmware and then inject their apps and their nuances into my phone, then I am, at that point, paying them for more than network access.