I'm Actually Giving Verizon Credit...
corkwatchr
Contributor - Level 1

I know - my message is against the norm on this discussion board.

As a software developer myself, I can appreciate waiting for bugs to be ironed out of software before it is released. I have plenty of patience for this. I commend Verizon for seeming to be the only carrier that cares about the quality of the software.

The only reason Verizon can send back the Cyan/WP8.1 update to Microsoft is if there were bugs in the Cyan/WP8.1 release from Microsoft. Yes - ultimately the bugs were breaking the apps created by Verizon but the software updates simply shouldn't break these apps. This is truly Microsoft's fault and they are responsible for fixing it.

Verizon is not asking Microsoft to change the OS by adding some custom feature just for Verizon's apps. That would be stupid and Microsoft would tell Verizon "Not going to happen." Instead, I really believe that the Verizon apps found one or more bad bug(s), a breaking change in the new OS version, that Microsoft needs to fix, ultimately making other "non-Verizon" applications more compatible with the new OS. The update will trickle down to the other phones used by other carriers.

Source Control Manager Developer Talk: I suspect Microsoft is branching their Cyan source code to include the new update to Cyan/WP8.1 and then will roll that change into Denim and WP8.1.1 and ultimately WP10.

The true failure on Verizon's part is the complete lack of communication with its user base. Many WP users are professionals and really appreciate updates. Had Verizon been clear and stated, "We found 17 bugs in Cyan/WP8.1 that we want Microsoft to fix before we release it to our phones", I suspect the users would lay down their torches/pitchforks and say, "Okay - we'll wait." We shouldn't have to learn about this from Microsoft who is not exactly be proud to state that Verizon found problems (bugs) in their OS. This is where Verizon Wireless continues to fail us.