What's REALLY going on with the new data plans, and a (sad) case study of what Verizon did to me...
a_p123
Enthusiast - Level 2

First a short bit about my own personal background, I am a Tier III network architect, I understand fairly well the technical details of cellular back-haul switched and routed networks, QOS hooks and engines, packet encapsulation and structure, and more.

Second let me say that large networks such as Verizons are very complex. It is difficult just to run them let alone change them, difficult find train and retain the talents needed. And giving the volume of support calls they receive VERY difficult to create a support structure that can do much more than apologize to you for your trouble, read you a script, and get you off the phone. Before implementing the new plans Verizon trained (indoctrinated) their people on how to respond to teed off customers as they knew there would be many.

Third a word about data networks in general... you need to understand how incredibly expensive they are to build and operate. Let's say you sold 10 people a 50 Gb plan with unlimited data meaning in theory all 10 people could suck 50 Gb of data all month long 24 hours a day. And btw, and few of Verizons (and every other carriers) customers do this or at least try to come close. The business model for building a network that could support this is called... bankruptcy. You could not charge those users enough money for pay for that network capacity for so few users. So, consider the concept of over-subscription. Every service provider out there (not just cellular) has mechanisms in place to allow their subscribers to get most of their data knowing that the vast majority of users will use far less data than they could and only occasionally (thanks to evil Microsoft and others, but that's another story) use large chunks of bandwidth.