Very disappointed with the lack of Customer service

lynnkan
Member

I have been a verizon wireless customer for 15+ years, and have never been more disappointed.  Does anyone else notice that it seems like you are dealing with 2 different companies - and they don't play well together?  I 'chatted' oniline with a VZW rep - and was advised that if I upgraded my husband to a smartphone - our monthly bill would go down 6.00.  I ordered the phone - she told me that I could either wait until I activate to change my plan - or call customer service to do so.  I called.  Quote #2 - totally different - going up 22.00.  I advised we did not want to do that - our bill is already over 200 per month.  Chatted the next day - quote #3 - up 30.00.  The kicker was when we went to the store tonight.  The gentleman basically said if we deal with online - don't bother them.  Don't they both work for VZW?  His customer service was a little more than lacking.  I am considering switching to another carrier - even though I have 3 other phones that are under contract.  I don't want to worry every time I need customer service - which one of them will help.  Anyone suggest another carrier??

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Very disappointed with the lack of Customer service

lynnkan
Member

By the way, can someone with Verizon inform me what I need to do to return the phone and credit the activation fee?  We don't want the smart phone now, and were told at the store that they couldn't help us. 

0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Very disappointed with the lack of Customer service

HappyHelper
Sr. Member

You can return the phone within 14 days to the same place you purchased it but the activation fee is only waived if returned within 3 days.

0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Very disappointed with the lack of Customer service

lynnkan
Member

I purchased it via Chat online.  Does that mean I need to return it to them?  I'm assuming if I put it in the mail within 3 days (I just received it today) - the activation fee will be waived?  Do you know why the rep at the VZW store advised me that they were basically a separate entity and had nothing to do with them?

0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Very disappointed with the lack of Customer service

lbk3767
Member

Disregard, found return instructions in the box.  Will be returning.  Very disappointed in the lack of professionalism and consistency.  Would expect VZW to make it right for  long time and loyal customers. 

0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Very disappointed with the lack of Customer service

HappyHelper
Sr. Member

It's actually from the date it's shipped, not the day you receive it.

0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Very disappointed with the lack of Customer service

Community Manager
Community Manager

I definitely don't want to lose you lynnkan! We strive to provide excellent customer service via all avenues. I'm also disappointed your experience did not reflect this. This is not how we do business and I apologize for any inconvenience. I can clarify and further assist. Please accept my follow request, follow me and send me a direct message with your name and mobile number. Thank you.

TominqueBo_VZW
Please follow us on Twitter @VZWSupport

0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Very disappointed with the lack of Customer service

Community Manager
Community Manager

Dear lynnkan,

Good morning. I am sorry to hear you are in need of returning a device after upgrading. It would be my pleasure to explain the return process.

If you purchased the device via chat service, the device would need to be sent back via mail. In the box should have been a Fedex return shipping label.Please keep in mind there is a $35.00 restocking fee when returning a device within the 14 day time frame. Did you start new service? If you cancelled service within 3 days of starting new service, the activation fee will be refunded. Past the 3 days after activation fee, I apologize the activation fee is not refunded. Should you have further questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to us.

Thank You,
MichelleS_VZW
VZW Support
Follow us on Twitter @VZWSUPPORT

0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Very disappointed with the lack of Customer service

sfoscott
Member

I totally agree -- HORRIBLE customer service experiences recently. What happened?

I have a been a VZW customer for years and have always appreciated the excellent service.  Recently, I called to add my ipad to my shared data plan and waited 30 minutes with no resolution (see image below).  After refusing to wait longer, I the agent offered to call me back with instructions after the change had been made.  He did call back, which I appreciate, however 30 minutes to add additional services is unacceptable.

I've also tried reaching customer service several times this week for account questions and immediately receive the message "we are experiencing heavier than normal call volumes and wait times".  After waiting 5-10 minutes each time I have given up.

VZW had better get their act together.  If I wanted bad service I'd switch to Sprint and save at least 25% each month.photo.PNG

0 Likes
Highlighted

Re: Very disappointed with the lack of Customer service

lynnkan
Member

I did not start new service.  This is an existing line that I was going to upgrade to a smart phone, after being advised the monthly fee would not increase.  I received the phone on Tues - and took it to the post office to return on Wednesday.  I certainly hope that I will not have to pay a restocking fee - and expect that the 35.00 activation will be reversed, as well.  My husband should be eligible for a new phone again - since we returned that one.  However, I am undecided if we want to commit to another 2 years after this experience.  

0 Likes