Poor signal around the Charlotte, NC Airport (CLT)
BWIALFA

I am a pilot working out of the Charlotte Airport. I have noticed that signal inside the terminal is fine but as soon as you go down the jetway or go anywhere on airport property (which covers several square miles) there appears to be no signal at all. On occasion when we have taxied away from our gate and need to call our maintenance, I can never reach them with my Verizon service. Usually the other pilot will have to call (several different carriers besides Verizon) because my phone won't work. Also, as a passenger commuting to or from work, I can never access data from the aircraft cabin while on the ground at the Charlotte airport. When I would like to check my flight status or arrival gate I am never able to do so with Verizon service. The zip code for the airport is 28208. This is not a problem at any of the other airports I fly into (just Charlotte). This has been a problem for as long as I have been a Verizon customer.

My question is:

Why is there a lack of service in this area and when will this deficiency of signal be fixed?

Thanks,

Perplexed Pilot

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: Poor signal around the Charlotte, NC Airport (CLT)
boringusername
Master - Level 1

This is a customer to customer forum. perhaps you should switch to a carrier that works for you.

0 Likes
BWIALFA

boringusername,

Thank you for your warm welcome to the forum. As the Charlotte Douglas International Airport employs thousands of professionals I am sure I am on point with several "Verizon customer's" concerns. With over 46 million passengers passing thru the airport last year I am sure a few of those were Verizon customers as well. Perhaps you could enlighten us with your insight into this conundrum?

0 Likes
vzw_customer_support
Customer Service Rep

BWIALFA, we want you to have the service you need. Are calls, messages and data affected?

LauraL_VZW
Follow us on TWITTER @VZWSupport