How do I cancel my account?
switchingtoatnt

Verizon has the worst customer service and a ridiculous fraud department that doesn't know how to deal with anything. I want to cancel my account, but Verizon has made it so I cannot do anything to my account. This is completely outrageous.

I have been using Verizon since 2006. At that time, I was just going to college and didn't have a bank account, so my sister started a phone plan for me with Verizon under her name and personal information.

Years later, in 2012, my friend joins the plan and we start a Share Everything plan. Two months into this plan, a third friend joins the plan, and that's when Verizon makes a mistake and swaps my sister's name and my friend's name--making it seem like my friend is the account owner, but the personal information is still all my sister's. I don't think it's a big deal at that time. It's weird, but it's all names within our same plan and we never need it anyway.

Recently, one of my friends on the plan upgrades his phone. He then buys a new phone, planning on adding his girlfriend to the line. Last week, I lost my phone and decide to use my upgrade. Apparently all of this sets off Verizon's fraud department and I get an email saying I need to call and verify the order.

When I call, GET THIS, they say my name isn't on the account so they can't tell me anything. But the reason my name and my sister's name isn't on the account is because of some mistake Verizon made in 2012. So my friend calls, and has to give my sister's social security number because that's the one on the account, and they say that the name doesn't match the social security. OF COURSE NOT. VERIZON CHANGED THE NAMES. Then they suspended all the lines and say we have to keep paying while it is suspended.

This is ridiculous that Verizon is making us pay the price for a mistake they made themselves. We have zero ability to change the names on the account.