Can I transfer my line from my parents Family Share Plan to a new plan.
hydnwtkns

To start things off, I will give you some background information. I am 18, and I will be attending college in the fall. I have been using Verizon wireless for almost three years. I am part of my parent's family share plan. I pay my parents the bill. However when i move away for college, I will be unable to pay my parents for my cell phone bill. I just renewed my contract last August.

I want to know if there is anyway for my parents and I to transfer my line to its own account. I would be willing to extend my contract. I was also wondering, if there was the possiblilty that they would let me drop out of the family share plan (without termination fee) and just start a new plan (so that I would have new phone deals).

Thank you in advance for your time.

Haydn

Message Edited by hydnwtkns on 06-17-2009 09:45 PM
Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: Can I transfer my line from my parents Family Share Plan to a new plan.
DarkCobra
Contributor - Level 3

Hello and welcome!   Well, let's make this as simple as we can . . . you're going away to college and want your own account which you will pay for yourself I presume.   Ok, the best way to do this is through an Assumption of Liability (AOL) in which the Primary Account Holder (one of your parents I presume) needs to call verizon (peferrably with you nearby the phone as well) so that the transfer of the account can take place.  

The Primary Account Holder needs to first authorize the release of the line to you.   You will then acknowledge acceptance of the line.   I must tell you that you need to have established some form of credit as you need be what verizon calls "credit worthy".   If accepted, the line and phone number will be placed totally in your name only and you will be responsible for the payments.