We certainly want you to have the correct features with your account, Ccelectric2853! Should you decide to cancel Cloud, your contacts will still remain on your device, but will no longer be backed up to our server. This link has the details on how to cancel: http://spr.ly/6608GsSmM.
Due to the age of this thread, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.