Can I avoid this Jelly Bean system update?
mominga
Enthusiast - Level 1

I see so many issues being posted.  I am not a techie and cannot afford to spend hours fixing problems that come from a software update.  Can I just not do the update?  Will maybe the bugs be worked out and I can do it after that?  Thanks for any help you all can provide.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Can I avoid this Jelly Bean system update?
cynindesign
Contributor - Level 2

Well I pointed out the possible settings under android keyboard settings but the person who initiated the topic came up w/ the right setting....android keyboard settings->auto correction-> select OFF

View solution in original post

mrpearsoy
Contributor - Level 3

Your phone will continuosly prompt you, and you can dismiss it, but it will pop up. And if you have any issues with your phone and call tech to troubleshoot, they will ask what version you are running and wont fix it unless you have the updated software. Having said that, I will tell you that with any software update, it is ALWAYS recommended that after its done, you HARD RESET your device to clear out any errors. Most people dont want to do this, but will instead come on here and complain about what their phone is doing/not doing, instead of following guidelines. I was having batt issues and bluetooth issues, after the update, and hard reset and restored my phone, and its fine. A few hiccups with apps,but they have to be updated to work correctly with jellybean. Dont be afraid to do the update. It makes the phone even better. I love it.

0 Likes
mominga
Enthusiast - Level 1

Thanks so much!  Can you walk me through what is a "hard reset"?

0 Likes
mrpearsoy
Contributor - Level 3

Its in settings - backup and reset - and just follow the prompts. Make sure your contacts and pictures are backed up, for info on how to do ths, search the forums. Youll be pleased.

0 Likes
mominga
Enthusiast - Level 1