Why can't I put my picture on my Caller Name ID?
Telemachus
Enthusiast - Level 3

I'm not sure where to take this question -- the Verizon customer service phone gives me endless ads and then finally puts me on hold forever -- so I thought I would try this forum.  If I can't get an answer here, I will try the phone number again.

I have a paid subscription to Verizon Caller Name Id on my Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge+, but it seems to have a bug.  When I bring up the app and touch Picture ME, I see the blank profile image and the message No Picture Selected.  So I touch SELECT a Picture, Choose an Existing Picture, and I get to the Select a Photo Screen, which lists among other things my file on the phone called Downloads. I touch that and see some photos, including one of me.  I touch the photo of me, and the phone screen goes black and stays black no matter how long I wait. Touching the screen does nothing.  Touching the Home key brings back the Home Screen.  Bringing  back Verizon Caller Name Id shows that there is still no picture selected. 

I've tried this repeatedly with two different pictures (in case the problem was with the image file,) always with the same results.

The Account Tools/About in the app says I have version 3.12.7 of 2015-07-30.  Maybe I need an update, but I don't see any way of initiating one in the app, and I haven't noticed any routine automatic updates of this app.

Can anyone either from Verizon or otherwise tell me what is wrong?  Thanks.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Why can't I put my picture on my Caller Name ID?
gainessv
Enthusiast - Level 1

I know I am late on this post but I had the same issue and it has to do having permission to access storage on your phone. Try these steps:

Go To

Settings

Apps

App Manager

Caller Name ID

Permissions

Make sure storage is on.

Retry selecting pic in the app.

Hope this helps.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
vzw_customer_support
Customer Service Rep