Significantly decreased signal strength
BrewersGirl86
Enthusiast - Level 1

I have a Samsung Galaxy S4, software up-to-date, and am having issues with significantly decreased signal strength. Many times I am getting zero reception at my friend's house and in other areas as well. My reception is fine in my apartment, however, in older buildings it seems to decrease significantly from 4G to 1X. I bought this phone back in August 2013 and have swapped it out twice due to WiFi problems. Even at work when I'm outside (I work in a hospital), my reception is very poor. Is there a fix for this? My fiance has the same problem with his S5. Is this just a Samsung issue or is it a Verizon issue?

Re: Significantly decreased signal strength
vzw_customer_support
Customer Service Rep

BrewersGirl86, thanks for bringing this to our attention. I would love to work with you to figure out what is going on. When you got the replacement devcies were you able to get new sim cards with it? What zip code do you live in? Have you been able to power the device off, pull the battery from the phone and then remove the sim card for about 10-15 seconds, then place it all back together, then re-test. Please keep us posted.

KevinR_VZW

Follow us on Twitter @VZWSupport

0 Likes
mrasian

I have the same issue in my old office building.  My Samsung S5 has 1x and sometimes no signal whatsoever.  I switched from an iPhone 4.  Which had solid 3G all over this building.

0 Likes
vzw_customer_support
Customer Service Rep

mrasian, we don't want this to be an ongoing issue for you. Service can be challenging indoors. However, let's take a closer look at your device. Have you powered your current phone off/on since having this issue? Are you connected to Wi-Fi when having signal issues. If so, disable Wi-Fi and check your signal again. Keep us posted.

LasinaH_VZW

0 Likes
mrasian

This is occurs everyday at the office, the middle office on the 3rd floor

of a 3 story building.