Samsung Galaxy S6 (SM-G920V) system update 7/24/18
ejimbob
Enthusiast - Level 2

Got the system update 7/24/18  version: G920VVRU4DRE1.  Supposed to be
performance updates.  I am an IT tech.  I use a laptop mainly.   My company gives me this phone for IM and
Mail.  I use the Verizon apps.  I have been using ultra power saving mode for a couple of years.  No network background apps, no WI-FI, no biometrics.  Speed limiter and low light.  I only use about .3 gig of data a month.  I could usually go 5 days without charging the battery with the ultra-power on.  Now I am down to two days with this new update.  Just thought I would let Verizon and Samsung know that the update did not help battery performance.  I am about as pure minimal as you can get.  Someone missed testing battery consumption with whatever has been done.  Especially if someone chooses Maximum power saving mode, to get more battery life.  There is nothing to clean up on my phone, so not sure what the performance update is. Just battery performance drain.  I did not see any specific topic where this appeared to fit, so I put it here.  Guess the question is, has anyone else noticed it and thought it was just some app on your phone draining more after the update?   My thought is that Samsung and Verizon need to look at reducing the battery drain. 

Re: Samsung Galaxy S6 (SM-G920V) system update 7/24/18
kathy65793
Master - Level 1

I hope samsung is not doing what was done to the iphones. When you go into the battery usage what does it say in there that is using up the battery? Is it the android system or the android os?

0 Likes
ejimbob
Enthusiast - Level 2

I just got it to 100% about 7 hours ago. I am down to 80% I was on Max power saving mode. Shows 7% usage by Android System, 8% phone idle, 1% screen, 1% Cell Standby

vzw_customer_support
Customer Service Rep