Upgrade Fee Should be Renamed Churn Fee

ickybro

I almost bought a phone from Verizon today. Made it all the way to the shopping cart and then noticed a barrier. There is a new (old but recycled) upgrade fee. Apparently VZW would like to charge me $20 for me to have the privilege of handing over a few hundred dollars for a phone.

Luckily, I have some options. I can buy the phone from some other entity and incur no upgrade fee. Or, since my line is not in a contract, I can simply go elsewhere at no cost. I have been using vzw for 14 years, so I guess I should probably test out something new anyways. Could be that all the Tmobile, ATT and US Cellular folks are getting a better deal than me. Thanks Big Red for giving me the incentive I needed for change. Change is hard, but when barriers are put in the way, new paths open up.

Is there anyway I can get this barrier to purchase removed and finish my checkout? Maybe a promo code? I am human and generally like to avoid change if possible.

Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct Answers
Highlighted

Re: Upgrade Fee Should be Renamed Churn Fee

mcm1994

Because Verizon now has the device payment plan more and more people are upgrading, due to operational cost changes associated with upgrading and activating devices a charge was added to keep up with all the upgrades Verizon has been getting. AT&T has a $40 upgrade fee and sprint has a $38 upgrade fee. I would rather pay $20

View solution in original post

0 Likes
Highlighted

Weth
Sr. Leader

This was just added. Do as I will do, buy somewhere else. I am shocked at the audacity to charge someone $20 to buy a full priced phone so I can take a SIM card from my old phone and put it in the new phone.

Highlighted

mcm1994