Highlighted

To all my fellow Military Members/Veterans be aware!! You may be getting cheated and lied to!!

tradeinbs

I have been a member of Verizon since 1994 and a Navy Veteran. In short, I have upgraded my phone with Verizon and have always spoken to a representative each time to activate and then review my current plans. Last upgrade was February of 2016 according to Verizon records, I had informed the rep that I was a veteran and wanted my military discount on my plan and was informed by such representative that my military discount was being applied! I had no reason to not believe the rep that told me that my military discount was being applied. Fast forward to 9-19-2019, I purchased a new phone, called to get it activated and wanted to upgrade my plan. When I mentioned the military discount...I was informed by current representative that I had to submit proof of military service and that this has been ongoing for at least 5+ years! I mentioned to the rep that I have no problem providing document(s) to receive discount and mentioned the last time I upgraded that the person that helped in 2016 did not inform me of this? And my new concern was, did I ever receive my military discount from 2016-2019?? I felt absolutely cheated and lied to by the Verizon rep that did my plan upgrade in 2016! I asked current Verizon rep for info on filing a complaint with corporate and the rep would not provide me with a corporate address and how to formally file a complaint and I was asked by rep, "what was I trying to accomplish?" I told the rep, "I don't want anyone else to be cheated or lied to! and if there is a way for me to be credited for my military discount I will pursue available avenues to do so!" More than 3 years I believed I was getting my discount and all this time ZERO discount!!! I would have gladly provided my military document(s) then in 2016 had I been informed that I was suppose to submit that online!!! $25 a month military discount February 2016- September