Droid RAZR Maxx HD Randomly Reboots
firstcause
Enthusiast - Level 2

Have had my phone for several months, its a Droid RAZR Maxx HD, stock verizon image.

System Version: 9.18.79.XT926

Android Version: 4.1.2

Kernel Version: 3.0.31-g101ca72

This phone has been randomly rebooting for months, I am an embedded systems engineer and so I've be trying things to try and figure out why this phone randomly reboots, without any luck.

This morning it rebooted after almost 8 days without rebooting, but it has never gone longer than this.

Also, since Verizon Stinks, and the Verizon Support Stinks, and their image makes it impossible to figure out whether these reboots are caused intentionally by a program or system component that is rebooting the system.

There is NO LOGGING of any kind that is useful, I have browsed the system folders and not been able to find anything useful, it may be there but I don't know.

Does anyone else have better information about logging?

Now, this rebooting issue could be caused by glitchy hardware or some bug in the kernel/android.

I got my wife the exact same phone when I got mine and hers DOES NOT have this issue, so as an engineer this fact is strong evidence that this issue is not being caused by software.

The random nature of the reboots suggest that hardware is at fault or that there is some "intelligent" agent triggering the reboots.

>Irrelevant comment deleted<

I have no way of knowing when different system components where updated because Verizon Stinks and they don't log what is changing in these "updates"

Anyone else seeing this?

>Minor editing and profanity word avoidance deleted<

Message was edited by: Verizon Moderator><

Labels (2)
0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Droid RAZR Maxx HD Randomly Reboots
vzw_customer_support
Customer Service Rep

Vaboof,