Verizon Yahoo home email account not accepted by Droid
blackandgold

I'm not a techie, but I have tried repeatedly & cannot get Droid to accept my Verizon email account whose POP & SMTP is "incoming.yahoo.verizon.net" & "outgoing.yahoo.verizon.net"  Droid keeps telling me that my user ID is wrong or that it cannot access the server.  I see that other folks had issues with email.  I set up my work Blackberry with my home email very smoothly.  don't know why this is a big deal.  Can anyone help?  Thanks.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Verizon Yahoo home email account not accepted by Droid
jimbot
Enthusiast - Level 2

I have a yahoo.com email account this procedure worked for me.

Type in your login name (with @yahoo.com) and your password. Do not hit enter

go to manual setup and select IMAP change imap server to: imap.mail.yahoo.com

go to end and hit next button

find SMTP server change to: smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com

Go to NEXT or whatever you should be just about done....set your preferences and good luck!!!

View solution in original post

0 Likes
jlynn74

I know for a fact that the Droid will not work with yahoo right now. I think they are going to fix it in a December 11th bug fix.

This is probably why the droid will not accept those servers - but the question I would have is why verizon is using Yahoo servers? Weird.

0 Likes
jimbot
Enthusiast - Level 2

I have a yahoo.com email account this procedure worked for me.

Type in your login name (with @yahoo.com) and your password. Do not hit enter

go to manual setup and select IMAP change imap server to: imap.mail.yahoo.com

go to end and hit next button

find SMTP server change to: smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com

Go to NEXT or whatever you should be just about done....set your preferences and good luck!!!

0 Likes
callmemarc
Enthusiast - Level 3

You also need to have Wi-Fi disabled when you set up the Yahoo account.  Once you have it set up you can turn Wi-Fi back on.  it absolutely DOES work.

0 Likes