Re: MiFi 4510L gets stuck in "dormant" state
tim_lightfoot

Thanks John.  We are using a Wilson signal booster already and we constantly have full bars on 3G (we are in a fringe area for 4G according to Verizon, but never have been able to pull that in even with the biggest signal booster we could buy).  I'm going to look at the PepWave Surf...that looks interesting...

Thanks again - and thanks for your continued advocacy in this area.  I know that your posts have been tremendously helpful....Cheers!  Tim

0 Likes
PebbleBill

Just got my new MiFi a couple of weeks ago. Have an important use for it today. But, it has been dormant all day. 4 bars. Good connection. Every time I reconnect, it goes back to dormant in a few seconds.

Does anyone know of a reliable data connection via cell? Does AT&T have a model that works? I am a professional and not a hobbyist. Need a device that is consistent.

Thanks

0 Likes
John_Getzke
Champion - Level 1

Pebble,

What you are describing is normal behavior for the MiFi 4510L.  Dormancy is not a problem, it is a status message that regards the activity of your MiFi.  The MiFi will go in and out of dormancy as is needed.

If you havent read through the solutions on this thread then I suggest starting with the resets to try and correct the actual problem, which is most likely a disconnection event from the VZW network.

Level 1 Reset:

1. Power down the MiFi
  2. Let the MiFi sit for 30 seconds
  3. Power on the MiFi
  4. Test the connection

Level 2 Reset:

1. Power down the MiFi
  2. Remove the back cover
  3. Remove the battery
  4. Remove the SIM card
  5. Allow the MiFi to sit for 30 seconds
  6. Reassemble the MiFi
  7. Test the Connection

Level 3 Reset

1. Power on the MiFi
  2. Remove the back cover
  3. Press and hold the Reset button next to the battery for 10 seconds
  4. Watch the MiFi E-Ink display to see if all the icons are displayed
  5. Release the Reset button
  6. Reassemble the MiFi
  7. Test your connection