Unlocked phone questions
Anmlluvr
Enthusiast - Level 1

Hi, I am hoping someone here can help me or maybe point me in the right direction. I bought an unlocked LG G8 Thinq back March or April. I have been trying since then to get this phone activated properly. Because of the pandemic still going on right now, I would rather avoid going to the stores if possible (also I have heard from others that apparently the corporate stores near me have not been handling/recognizing appointments properly). The information on the website has left me even more confused and frustrated every time I go through it.

The first question I have is the SIM card. My current phone is an LG G2 that I have had since I graduated college in 2014 and it has a micro SIM. The LG G8 Thinq needs a nano SIM. When requesting a new SIM card through 'Activate or Switch Device', it does not give me an option to make sure I am getting the right SIM card size and also just shows me my current phone, which I don't need the SIM card for, I need it for the new phone. I read from some posts on here that Verizon sends a SIM package with a card that has multiple sizes or something like that. Then I have read some that get the wrong size entirely. I guess for this I just want some advice on making sure I get the right SIM card without having to go in person.

The other part I partially took care of, was the phone plan. I am currently on an older Verizon plan that I don't think you can even get anymore, but on 8/8 I will be on the Play More Unlimited plan. When I was trying to activate before, it wanted me to pick a new plan which was fine I wanted a new one anyways, but now would it be better to wait until the new plan kicks in?