Re: Anyone else furious about the $30 upgrade charge?
acraftylady1
Contributor - Level 1

_Sandy51_ wrote:

Hi,  I am new to this. 
Get this one.  I am at the end of my contract and want to get a new phone.  It happens to be one of the free ones offered online.  I printed out the code so I can get the discount at the store.  

When I called the store they told me that the $30 and or $50 dollar fee is a rebate paid up front and I will receive it back in the mail.   My whole transaction was to be $30.00 plus tax with @30 coming back.    By the way...the cost of the new phone was @$349.00.

What do you think about that one???

Thid must be your first time upgrading?  When ever you upgrad in store you pay the full price then you have to send in for the rebate by mail so it comes out to the discounted price.    I have never heard of going into a store with codes, is that something new?    If you just log in to your account online and buy your phone that way you will pay the straight out discount price and not have to bother with the rebate.  We only got phones in store once and that was years ago the first time we signed up then after that I just go and order them online and they come in a timely manor and I activate them myself at home and I don't have the hassle of a rebate card.   Someone can explain it better than me but it's better to order your phones from verizon online and not have to deal with the rebate card or at least that works better for us.

0 Likes
Melinzar
Enthusiast - Level 2

When they told me about the fee I was so pissed I almost cancelled. The only reason I did not is because I needed a phone ASAP, I was working on a deadline and did not have time to drive clear across town to a competitors store. They are lucky they were not closer or else it would have been over for Verizon.

rcschnoor
Legend