Re: Wifi Calling Service on BYOD Unlocked Phones
tgm1024
Enthusiast - Level 2

@vzw_customer_support wrote:

We assure you our intention is to help you in the best way possible. Besides the Wifi Calling, do you have any other concern with your device? 

RachelM_VZW

Rachel, can you please have one of the verizon android software engineers chime in to explain this technically?  I'm a software engineer myself, but there's only so far I can fault-isolate this one.

YOU can answer this one:

Why are the Best Buy reps saying that Verizon told them words similar to: "The reason for getting a carrier phone is so that you can get WiFi calling."  They told me (and many others) that, and it's incorrect.

However what you cannot answer is what happens at the low level to explain why it really seems that Verizon is trying its hardest to make non-carrier phones work well.  Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, it does pre-Oreo, it fails Oreo and later, (etc.) That will require a software engineer.

For instance, I got my wifi working on my Samsung-bought S10+ by talking it directly to a Verizon store and the owner pushed all the right buttons on his company iPad and >poof< it worked (after asking me to download a few utilities).  However, (and perhaps this helps your engineers), the message and voicemail badge numbers refuse to show up.  You wouldn't be able to answer that one, or at least I can't imagine how unless it's been covered already as a bulletin to you (which it clearly hasn't because the reps all seem to be in the dark about it).

Thanks

0 Likes
mama23dogs
Legend

@tgm1024 wrote:

We assure you our intention is to help you in the best way possible. Besides the Wifi Calling, do you have any other concern with your device? 

RachelM_VZW

Rachel, can you please have one of the verizon android software engineers chime in to explain this technically?  I'm a software engineer myself, but there's only so far I can fault-isolate this one.

YOU can answer this one: