Email account verification needed for new SIM card.
mrmeach
Enthusiast - Level 3

When I tried to check emails on my LG G3, I got a message telling me that "Email account verification needed for new SIM card." The message gave me a choice to either "skip" it or proceed with verification by selecting "ok."

I do NOT have a new SIM card (I've been using the current one since Sept or Oct of 2014), so naturally I selected the "skip" choice to see if I could get around this request. Another message then popped up telling me ALL email accounts and associated contact data will be deleted if I skip this verification process. Selecting the "ok" choice, however, brings up an immediate concern since it involves giving up the password info I used to set up my accounts. The thought occurred  to me that this could be a hack, so I restarted my phone just to see if that would clear the message away, but it didn't, so I gave in, selected "ok," and entered the requested verification info.  I was then able to review emails as if nothing odd had happened.

A day later, I got the same message AGAIN, but this time instead of selecting "ok,"  I called the message's bluff and elected to "skip" the verification process. That'll show 'em, right?  Wrong.  As promised, my email account info for all accounts was deleted.  My contact info (for the phone), however, remained intact, so I breathed a sigh of relief on that.

Setting up my emails again shouldn't be too difficult since I have all that info recorded elsewhere in a file I keep handy in case I need to do a factory data reset.  But it would be nice to know what the heck is going on here if anyone can shed any light on this.

Thanks.         

Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Email account verification needed for new SIM card.
vzw_customer_support
Customer Service Rep

mrmeach,