Can I use the prepaid Mote E on my postpaid Verizon account?
kfilter
Enthusiast - Level 2

I am confused about Verizon's device locking policy. Device Unlocking Policy | Verizon Wireless It says that the LTE prepaid devices are not locked and do not need a password. So could I buy this Moto E Moto E Prepaid | Verizon Wireless and pop in my LTE Sim card and use it right away on my post paid account? If the phones are not locked I don't see why it would not work. Thanks for any help. I am a poor college student who needs a usable phone for a couple months before I am eligible for an upgrade.

Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Can I use the prepaid Mote E on my postpaid Verizon account?
kfilter
Enthusiast - Level 2

This is some of the information I gathered, although a lot of places I see that if you pop in your sim when you first get the phone it will work without the 6 months. From their policy:

Prepaid Device Unlocking Policy:

• We do not lock our 4G LTE Prepaid devices, and no code is needed to program them for use with another carrier.
  • Our 3G Prepaid Phone-in-the-Box phones are restricted for use with our Prepaid service for six months after activation, and are locked to the Verizon Wireless network for 12 months after activation. After six months, the restriction to our Prepaid service is automatically removed.

Since the Moto E is 4G LTE it seems like it should work right away. They specify that the 3G Phone-In-The-Box are restricted for 6 months, but not the 4G LTE prepaid phones. I feel like they just try to tell everyone it won't work.

View solution in original post

Snn5
Legend

All pre paid phones must be active on a pre paid line for 6 months before being able to activate it on a post pay account...that's coming from a Verizon rep 5 min ago.

I'd suggest Swappa.com or something similar and safe to find a reasonable-priced temp phone till upgrade/money time.

0 Likes
kfilter
Enthusiast - Level 2