ALLY NEWBIE/DROID NEWBIE... NEED APP ADVICE
kell089

My first Droid pone, heck my first phone I use the internet on. I'm new to this whole scene, especially ALL these Apps.

I do pretty basic things on my phone, nothing technical or anything what-so-ever. Im just curious if there are any apps i should DEFINITELY install. For safety reasons, certain software, any advice would be helpful! 

I've heard that i should definitely have: 1. Task Manager  2. Task Killer

Is this true? untrue?

HELP PLEASE, I'M CLUELESS. THANKS!! ❤️

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: ALLY NEWBIE/DROID NEWBIE... NEED APP ADVICE
TheGreatOne
Master - Level 1

I don't use task manager and task killer. About task killer...there ar many different view points on to whether a person should get it. Some people say it is not needed & others say it is.

The apps I would recommend are:

• Opera Mini 5 beta - Just a faster browser & an easier browser to navigate around
  • RingDroid - Make free ringtones with the songs in your phone or record ringtones
  • Ringo Lite - You can assign ringtones to callers & a ringtone to text messages
  • SMS Backup - Backup's up your text messages to your SD card
0 Likes
AZSALUKI
Legend

i use advanced task manager....but you need to create an "ignore list" to tell it what NOT to kill (calendar, alarm clock, etc....use common sense and think about what you don't want to stop running).

my favs are:

aloqa

appbrain

qik

shop savvy

es file explorer

and for fun/entertainment:

abduction

frozen bubble

grid droid

tmz

onn

pandora

0 Likes
Harley_Chick
Enthusiast - Level 1

Apps are a very personal choice - a lot depends on what you are into. 

For fun/interesting stuff, I highly recommend Google Goggles, Bump and Google Sky Map. 

For text messaging, I love Handcent SMS. 

Radios:  Pandora and Last.fm.  For Twitter, I use Touiteur (again, personal choice). 

For facebook, I use an app called Fbook.