Poor Signal Reception at Work - Need Advice
Airman1947
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hello Everyone,

This is a long time problem that I've had since I've been working at my company for the last 3 years.  I've had this problem with every phone I've had since, including my current Samsung Galaxy S5.  For some reason, Verizon cell phone reception is very poor in my office building.  I get at least 2 bars of 4G right outside, but when I'm inside at my cubicle, my service goes back at forth from 1 bar of 3G, to no service at all.  I thought that the building might be steel/concrete reinforced or something.  But here's the weird part.  From what I understand, only Verizon customers have this problem in our building.  AT&T subscribers don't seem to have the problem.  Weird.

But anyway, I was wondering if anybody has any idea for what I can do to try to get around this.  I've looked into a bunch of different options, but none of them seem feasible; physically anyway.  Money's not a huge problem.  Here's what I've got so far:

• I tried purchasing a Verizon 4G Hotspot to have at my desk, but it also didn't get any reception, so it didn't help
  • I can go by the window if I absolutely need to use my phone, but this is an annoyance.  My cubicle is on the innermost wall, far away from the window, so if I need to use my phone, I'm going back and forth a lot
  • We do have Wi-Fi in the building that I can connect my phone to, but it's not the best in reliability.  Plus, it's filtered so a lot of sites and apps are blocked, including messaging apps, so I can't text over Wi-Fi with the Verizon Messages app
  • If I'm trying to text someone, I can use vtext.com, but it's not the most ideal solution