Re: NYC midtown Horrible Data speeds and LTE MIA most of the time
timmiii888
Enthusiast - Level 2

LTE speeds and reception is extremely bad in Midtown Manhattan as well as Astoria Queens. The best I ever get in LTE signal strength is 2 to 3 bars out of 5 and there has been a definite speed decrease in the areas which I travel to most since I signed up in November 2012.\

In addition, my sms are heavily delayed. People are receiving them minutes to hours after I initially sent them out.

0 Likes
JosephAdes

I am a computer consultant and travel all over NYC midtown (some areas in downtown as well)

Since day 1 of using LTE - right when iPhone 5 came out - speeds were fine, but terrible indoor and in-building coverage

Not even a year later - impossible to make use of the LTE network. I carry a second iPhone on me which uses AT&T LTE and always have 4-5 bars of usable service, inside and outside, even in basements.

When voice over LTE comes out - forget it. This will be a repeat of the issues AT&T had in 2010 with dropped calls left and right

Was in times square outdoors on 42nd street and 7th ave - did not get more than 2 bars of service! Is this a joke??

3G indoor coverage is no better. Better than LTE by far, but 80% of the places I go to - unusable, vs AT&T which works perfectly

And if you thought midtown was bad, try downtown. Midtown looks like god when you compare it to downtown.

One thing is clear, my days on verizon will be numbered. Probably switching to T-Mobile soon unless Verizon can compensate me for the fact that I can't use the phone more than half the time I make an attempt to do so.

Shame on you verizon

PS - I know that the issue isnt with my phone because when I had a verizon ipad (I switched that to AT&T few months ago) I had the same issues, and my business partner uses the galaxy s3 on verizon LTE and has the exact same issues.

0 Likes
Intocable
Contributor - Level 2