Grossly misrepresenting data usage
steve_sheldon
Enthusiast - Level 3

First a little background, I am a professional software developer, I work from home and have a long history working for companies like Microsoft and Macromedia. I was actually a programmer on Microsoft Office among others. I have been waiting for a while to get to the point where I could find a good solution for working on the move. The 4G LTE service by verizon is exceptional, it works amazing, the only problem I have is it seems to report data so innacurately that if I were to use it the way I think could be deemed reasonable usage, it would overbill me by literally $1500 per month.

Let me explain...

I recently signed up for 4G LTE hotspot to use for work while on the road. I tested it for the first time today and wanted to get a feel for how much data I would be using so I ran the following network traffic monitors:

• Windows Network Monitor
  • VZ Access
  • Another 3rd party tool (wire shark)
  • netstat

With some of these tools I monitored the data directly to the MAC Address for the device, that way all traffic is accounted for, it wouldn't matter what applications I am running I just see the raw data going in and out of the machine down to the individual UDP and TCP ports.

For a baseline, I did the following test:

First I logged into My Verizon, my usage was nomina (close to zero) because I hadn't used the adapter. Next I did the following:

1. A 10 minute skype call (~7 megabytes)

2. I opened facebook, then closed it (~320 kilobytes)

3. I opened bbcnews.com then closed it. (~300 kilobytes)

4. I ran speedtest.net (~10 megabytes)

So in total I saw ~18 megabytes of data be processed through the mac address associated with my wireless card and through to the 4G LTE wireless adapter.

I closed the machine and waited for My Verizon to update. Imagine my frustration when I saw my data usage at 1.15 GB. Is it just me or does this feel almost criminal?

Notes