Unlocked Nokia Lumia 900
solesurvivor78

The unlocked Lumia is going for $499 at AT&T. I really don't want to go through the hassle of the Early terming my contract and was just going to buy the Lumia outright and have it replace my Torch on my Verizon plan. Is that doable? What things should I be aware of? Firmware updates? Support? I am fairly new to the smartphone game so let me know what I am up against.

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: Unlocked Nokia Lumia 900
SmoothDouglas
Enthusiast - Level 2

I hope you didn't buy it because AT&T phones won't work on Verizon's network.  AT&T uses GSM in their devices and Verizon uses CDMA.  They are incompatible and if you buy a AT&T phone it will not function as a phone at all on Verizon.  The only way to get a Nokia 900 is to terminate your contract with Verizon and get a contract with AT&T or buy an unlocked phone on AT&T.  Which I am seriously considering since Verizon doesn't have squat for Windows Phones.

0 Likes
solesurvivor78

Thanks just what i needed to know. I guess I will have to break the contract. I have broken glass on my Torch, Don't know what it cost to fix so I thought I would just change to AT&T.

0 Likes
Ann154
Community Leader
Community Leader

I highly doubt that AT&T will sell any of their phones unlocked when purchased at full retail price. Where are you getting that price?

I'm most definitely NOT a VZW employee. If a post answered your question, please mark it as the answer.

0 Likes
SmoothDouglas
Enthusiast - Level 2

I've read that you can buy it unlocked for $450 which is a great price. Go to wpcentral.com for the article. Good luck!

0 Likes
Ann154
Community Leader
Community Leader

You can buy it off-contract for that price. It won't be unlocked though. ATT has a policy in place that prevent phones from being unlocked until at least ten months after the phone is released and you must be a current customer of ATT to even request the unlock at that time.